StarLeafUsed by 82% Professionals

StarLeaf Reviews

Paid

4.4

/5

(Alternatives.co rating)
  • Linux
  • Windows

StarLeaf is a secure and reliable video meeting and collaboration software for businesses. It includes calling, cloud-based messaging, creating agendas, recording, meetings, and so on with simple functionality that seamlessly connects people regardless of device.

Contact Us

Find the right plan today

Try For Free
Alternatives.co has rated
StarLeaf
4
Select Application
  • 4
  • 4.5
  • 3
  • 4.5
  • 4
G2
4.0
Top Comments by G2
Positive Comments
  • Tony G.Medical Physicist
    Review
    1.0

    This box is confusing It has taken me a long time to work out that the message at the bottom stating how many characters are remaining is a minimum not a maximum Collaboration and Screen sharing with my colleagues. I also like the quick 1 to 1 video calling. I frequently miss the start of meetings and it takes me 14 minutes to rejoin by rebooting my computer. I see the time when I start the process and then look when finally joining late. Many of us have taken to joining by phone and using audio only until we have managed to get connection. This problem is not just on my computer and is a major problem for my colleagues too. If I join a meeting and get a message that I am the only participant I do not know whether that is correct and I am indeed the first or there are connection problems. So I have no way ahead of a meeting to find out whether there are any problems. Starleaf support has just asked me to refer my problems to my local provider rather than looking to help with solutions, so my only way to report problems is through surveys such as this. There are too many parts of the program that do not work as they should I have to rescale to full screen to get chats to display corectly If we are sharing screens then the part of the screen where the sharing screen flag is displayed on the sharers PC is obscured on the displayed screen. We cannot see what the rest of the group can see when we are sharing our screens and have to ask whether they can see what we think they ought to be able to see. Sometimes screen sharing is disabled, but there is no indication why. Sharing data on screenenables us to help train others to solve problems on their computers without having to go to their offices since we can see exactly what they are doing. Hi Tony, Im so sorry that youve been having these problems with StarLeaf, and that you havent so far received help from our support team. Im sorry that you had to send a G2 Review to get help with these problems. This isnt good enough. Its not up to the high standards we at StarLeaf expect of ourselves, and it doesnt reflect what most of our users experience. We are committed to putting this right, and to making sure that others dont encounter the same difficulties when they are looking for help with StarLeaf. Our team are looking into this. We will help you resolve these issues.

  • swapnasis m.Software Engineer
    Review
    4.5

    The security of this platform is really differentiated me to choose StarLeaf as a virtual/online meeting platform. First of all, this platform is cloud-based which is prime evidence to ensure StarLeaf is a secure and reliable platform. Even StarLeaf follows most of the security protocols such as end-to-end encryption. The most useful and unique feature is having a "Room System" from the StarLeaf application. The video quality is simply great, this platform provides full high definition video quality which is really amazing and when it comes to the audio quality, this is great too and I must say this is best in the available segment. Like other meetings platform, multiple meeting at a time is possible, I wish the same feature will be available in an upcoming release. It would be good to have auto-correct and punctuate while chatting. When we start a call without a video, we need to cancel it and start again and it's not easy to cancel video than and personal camera. Also, I wish this application should also be available on Linux and ubuntu because being a Test Engineer I need to test my application on all platforms. StarLeaf is the most secure and reliable platform. StarLeaf is customer-centric and focused on how to satisfy its customers. This platform fulfils all my meetings need exceptions on under budget expenses. So please go for it without any hesitation. The favourite aspect of this application is host control. This platform is providing full control and the host can run the meetings according to his needs, I can add anyone during the meetings, I can remove anyone during the meeting, I can mute, unmute and bale to lock the meetings for better security. The feature related to screen sharing, recording of meetings, and streaming the meetings on different platforms are working really very great. StarLeaf also provides me with the privilege to share info like files and chat with the guests or team who are at the meeting. The technical support and service are really excellent and most informative.

  • Audrey T.Marketing Specialist
    Review
    5.0

    I love how it works seamlessly between the computer and mobile app. I also like how the group meeting function works. I believe you can have as many as 100 people on the call. I also enjoy that it automatically adds my accepting meeting (or invitations) to Outlook. It keeps me organized and on track. I also enjoy the ability to update my profile picture as often (or as little) as I want. While having a headshot is nice, since this is used internally at my company, a lot of my co-workers have updated their profiles to be their favorite animals or memes. Another feature I like is the "Do Not Disturb" function. This way, it doesn't send notifications to my computer app but I am still able to keep up with messages. I also like the subtle red dot that appears on the app's icon. It works as a gentle reminder that there are messages or missed calls without being too persistent. I wish there was a way to turn off calls coming in through my phone on certain days (like on the weekend). The other thing that is slightly annoying is that, when scheduling a meeting, you have to go into a web browser. It's unfortunate that this feature takes you out of the app. I have also noticed that if you are driving, it has a hard time maintaining the quality of the call. Besides all of this, I definitely would recommend this software for any company. It is definitely better than other business messaging software (such as Skype). While it is important to look at your other options, I would highly recommend this software. It is easy to use and dependable. It is also great at inviting outside users to use that platform when having meetings. I would also suggest to look at how much you are spending on phone plans and how much the StarLeaf service is. We are able to talk easily with our co-workers across the globe. Also, since this is web-based software, we do not have to worry about paying for an extra phone plan that includes internationally calling or texting. This, in turn, saves us money and truly increases productivity.

Negative Comments
  • Tony G.Medical Physicist
    Review
    1.0

    This box is confusing It has taken me a long time to work out that the message at the bottom stating how many characters are remaining is a minimum not a maximum Collaboration and Screen sharing with my colleagues. I also like the quick 1 to 1 video calling. I frequently miss the start of meetings and it takes me 14 minutes to rejoin by rebooting my computer. I see the time when I start the process and then look when finally joining late. Many of us have taken to joining by phone and using audio only until we have managed to get connection. This problem is not just on my computer and is a major problem for my colleagues too. If I join a meeting and get a message that I am the only participant I do not know whether that is correct and I am indeed the first or there are connection problems. So I have no way ahead of a meeting to find out whether there are any problems. Starleaf support has just asked me to refer my problems to my local provider rather than looking to help with solutions, so my only way to report problems is through surveys such as this. There are too many parts of the program that do not work as they should I have to rescale to full screen to get chats to display corectly If we are sharing screens then the part of the screen where the sharing screen flag is displayed on the sharers PC is obscured on the displayed screen. We cannot see what the rest of the group can see when we are sharing our screens and have to ask whether they can see what we think they ought to be able to see. Sometimes screen sharing is disabled, but there is no indication why. Sharing data on screenenables us to help train others to solve problems on their computers without having to go to their offices since we can see exactly what they are doing. Hi Tony, Im so sorry that youve been having these problems with StarLeaf, and that you havent so far received help from our support team. Im sorry that you had to send a G2 Review to get help with these problems. This isnt good enough. Its not up to the high standards we at StarLeaf expect of ourselves, and it doesnt reflect what most of our users experience. We are committed to putting this right, and to making sure that others dont encounter the same difficulties when they are looking for help with StarLeaf. Our team are looking into this. We will help you resolve these issues.

  • David T.Scientist
    Review
    0.5

    Clean interface, does not have any clutter or extraneous options that can be confusing to new users. When it works it has good integration with MS Outlook for scheduling vid meetings. Video quality is always average to poor. Whilst it has been partially fixed we did have several instances where scheduled meetings were not being shown on the MS Outlook calendar. Little niggles aside, there are some major flaws which were still outstanding at the time of writing; 1) When in a group meeting there is no option to text message everyone. You have to create a separate group with the people involved manually to achieve this goal. 2) When someone is presenting to you, there's no way to shrink the presenter's face and you are left with a rectangle (which can be blank) which obscures to the top right hand corner of the screen. Also, the display quality of presentation is often quite poor so you're left squinting a little in an attempt to read the finer details. Those two issues were amplified during the lockdown when video conferences became the de facto method of meetings. Understandably Starleaf is a small company so it would be unfair to expect functions like augmented background blurring or headtracking on video but having a chat box in group meeting or not having immovable boxes obscure presentation view is hardly rocket science. In summary, don't bother with Starleaf unless you've tried the competitor brands or you enjoy having your patience tested. A unified e-comms system which is used by 3 sites. It does allow for a relatively seamless integration between MS Outlook and itself for scheduling video conferences with internal and external contacts.

  • Bjorn H.MD at DEKOM BV and DEKOM Belgium NV/SA
    Review
    4.0

    StarLeaf has a perfect portal to administer users, settings and other parameters for video conferencing in the organisation. The portal has a perfect overview of common settings, preferred settings and many other aspects that contribute to a great experience. What is not good at the moment: when I want to call back someone, it takes 'the last used person' in my list. So many times I enter into a call with the previous contestant, instead of my desired new participant. People on a wireless network may experience quality problems during a call. This is something that could be improved as well. Chatting outside the own organisation would also be a great asset, this is not yet possible. Try it. You will most probably like it. StarLeaf solves a series of problems: unified communications is now addressed in an appropriate way, video conferencing is more professional and controls are done by me instead of an impossible to understand system. Hello, thank you for your great review! You mention an issue with calling people back on StarLeaf. Could you tell us a bit more about this so we can better understand the problem? Were always looking for ways to improve. Its true that StarLeaf, like other video call providers, needs good bandwidth for high quality calls. Check out this troubleshooting video for ways to improve connectivity for your video meetings: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVHC8COPqoM (advice on bandwidth starts at 1:10). Thank you for your feedback about chat with contacts from other organizations Ive passed this on to our team for consideration.

GetApp
4.5
Top Comments by GetApp
Positive Comments
  • Shivkanya B.Pharmaceuticals
    Review
    5.0

    Overall, the StarLeaf is good for meetings. It provides all the good features like sound quality, video quality, and most importantly, secure communication. Go for it.

  • Tom J.Construction
    Review
    5.0

    Quality real time chat with multiple colleagues in multiple locations

  • Ante U.Telecommunications
    Review
    5.0

    Im verysatisfied with service. It covers most of the scenarios need for video collaboration.

Negative Comments
  • Martin C.Construction
    Review
    3.0

    No Comments

  • Gianluca S.Information Services
    Review
    3.0

    No Comments

  • Ana V.Computer Software
    Review
    3.0

    It is a solid tool, mostly used in our company but lot of technical difficulties reported and often emails from tech support that is down..

Trustradius
3.0
Top Comments by Trustradius
Positive Comments
  • Verified User
    Review
    3.0

    Microsoft Teams, when I used, was far better than StarLeaf, on video, sound, and feature connections.
    StarLeaf is good because it is allowing our Company and global teams to create and conduct meetings and video calls. However, the mic often has issues as well as connection problems. The mobile app is excellent for joining the video conf calls.
    Integrating teams around the world. The connection from StarLeaf to IBM Lotus Notes calendar is very useful.
    The microphone has lots of issues, specially in the beginning of calls. Quality of the sound sometimes is not the greatest.

Negative Comments
  • Verified User
    Review
    3.0

    Microsoft Teams, when I used, was far better than StarLeaf, on video, sound, and feature connections.
    StarLeaf is good because it is allowing our Company and global teams to create and conduct meetings and video calls. However, the mic often has issues as well as connection problems. The mobile app is excellent for joining the video conf calls.
    Integrating teams around the world. The connection from StarLeaf to IBM Lotus Notes calendar is very useful.
    The microphone has lots of issues, specially in the beginning of calls. Quality of the sound sometimes is not the greatest.

Capterra
4.5
Top Comments by Capterra
Comments
  • Tom W.Vice President, Collaboration Engineering
    Review
    5.0

    Videoconferencing and audioconferencing along with content sharing is mission critical to our business. Our workforce is distributed including in-house and remote workers. We also have a serious requirement to collaborate while on the road. The Starleaf platform is easy to use and robust, enabling our workers to collaborate anywhere, from any device.
    The personal app runs on PC's, Macs, IOS, and Android devices. The user experience is common throughout all personal devices as well as Starleaf's room systems. Starleaf offers both cloud based endpoints that are aggressively priced and include Touch Panels, as well as Solutions specifically to be deployed within Skype-for-Business environments. Their SfB endpoints are truly native SfB clients so the complexity making your "standards compliant" videoconferencing system interoperate/coexist with your SfB platform is eliminated. There is no need for expensive and complex infrastructure that's sole purpose is to enable participation of non-SfB endpoints into SfB calls. The Starleaf Cloud platform and endpoints are literally the easiest to deploy in my experience. Make basic connections and power up the endpoint, insert a Quick Connect Code when prompted, and the endpoint communicates with the "mother ship" and is ready to make calls in minutes. Starleaf's endpoint registrations capability eliminates the need (in the majority of cases) of making any modifications to IT infrastructure to enable videoconferencing traffic in/out of firewalls. A big plus of the cloud architecture is the fact that once a call is established between two endpoints in your enterprise the traffic of the call becomes point-to-point between the two endpoints, versus both endpoints chewing up Internet bandwidth to/from the cloud.
    An area in which Starleaf has already delivered some improvements is with their User Interface. The initial version for the Starleaf Breeze app and the Touch Panel was not completely intuitive. Recent releases have introduced an updated UI that improves usability. Like other companies, Starleaf strives to improve in this area constantly, based on user feedback.

  • Vijay V.Sr. Software Engineer
    Review
    5.0

    I like the video conference portion of the Software. I also like the way it can be used in any device unlike other softwares where there are few restrictions. I am happy with the product but if they can address call drop issue (at least if they can show a message) it would be greatly helpful.
    The best thing about this software is ease of use. Users can create their own virtual conference rooms so other users can join from around the world on a weekly calls. We can schedule/attend the meetings either using App installed in the PC or using cloud base meeting portal or using mobile. The App has directory of all employees so it is easy to call them via phone or from the app (using computer audio/video). The Hardware is the best for conference rooms. It is the most secure and reliable software.
    The downside of video conferencing is it takes lot of resources. If you are on VPN (few times) or had lower internet bandwidth the calls will be dropped suddenly. It won't even show a message that issues with internet connection or issues with call quality etc, it drops the call suddenly. The other thing we noticed was we can schedule meeting with 50 users only. So far the least liked feature was camera turns on automatically once you join the call. There is no way I can turn off the feature in the settings. Also, I can't view future meetings that I got invited to in the app which is quite a bit frustrating.

  • Randy M.CEO
    Review
    5.0

    Easy adoption and training of users. - We were looking to solve problems with AV integration and coordinating customer calls with Skype. We also needed a powerful desktop, IM and mobile solution. Starleaf was able to solve the immediate Skype-enabled conference room problem and we were staying away from their mobile application. They then recently release a new and much-improved desktop client (which is free, by the way) and our adoption level has gone up.
    - We were looking to solve problems with AV integration and coordinating customer calls with Skype. We also needed a powerful desktop, IM and mobile solution. Starleaf was able to solve the immediate Skype-enabled conference room problem and we were staying away from their mobile application. They then recently release a new and much-improved desktop client (which is free, by the way) and our adoption level has gone up. The touch panel with native skype interface made it flawless for our team to join Skype calls.
    The old Breeze client was bad, but that problem is gone. The GTm Series is built for the legacy AV community and pushing towards cloud bridge solutions- a hard balance to create, so there are inputs and outputs we didn't need- but I'm sure others will be happy with the flexibility built in.

  • James B.Senior Account Manager AV Sales
    Review
    4.0

    Efficiency, better collaboration, more inclusive team spirit
    Easy to use shouldgo without saying; on a single platform, I can IM my team and then seamlessly escalate this to a voice or video call, and then to a full scale collaboration. Most of the young talent we are trying to attract from the best schools, colleges and universities want to work in a more dynamic and multi-modal way - this means that they need collaboration tools that will follow them across their different devices - PC, mobile, tablet and into the meeting room - with the StarLeaf App we can let them do this. This leads to better and far more dynamic collaboration, wherever the team is, whatever they are doing; it leads to far greater inclusion for all team members, and therefore faster decision making; we do this by living in the chat box, and then escalating this to video collaboration immediately the moment we need to pore over a document or share and discuss some content - it is very easy to use and the team love it
    Currently you cant IM outside your organisation, but I believe that development is being carried out on this

  • Gizzelle A.Solutions Advisor
    Review
    5.0

    I like that it is just as easy to have corporate video conferencing as it is to use my smart phone. We have had both Polycom and Lifesize systems over the years and I can't remember us using them a single time because no one knew how to dial between offices or set up the devices. Now we use video conferencing on a daily basis internally and with our external customers. Also, little things like being able to set up "click to call me" for an instantaneous video call in my e-mail signature are really cool. It's also intuitive from an administrative standpoint...my first time in the admin portal I was able to get great data and make beneficial changes without any training.
    I really wish there was the ability to take control of someone else's screen when you are doing desktop sharing instead of just viewing it. Also, occasionally on my MacBook Pro, my camera won't boot up automatically during a call and I get audio only....I'm the only one in our organization with the issue though and I have a support ticket open to hopefully solve it.

  • Solne F.Jurist
    Review
    4.0

    Starleaf is a very useful and easy to use software as it enables me to communicate in real time with my co-workers. It is very simple to create different groups and there is an ability for users to put themselves absent or disconnected even though they are connected, or to let know they are in a meeting and that they should not be disturbed. The only feature of Starleaf that deserves to be improved would be the quality of its videos. Otherwise, it remains a very correct tool.
    Starleaf is a very useful and easy to use software as it enables me to communicate in real time with my co-workers. It is very simple to create different groups and there is an ability for users to put themselves absent or disconnected even though they are connected, or to let know they are in a meeting and that they should not be disturbed.
    The only feature of Starleaf that deserves to be improved would be the quality of its videos. Otherwise, it remains a very correct tool.

Alternativeto.net
4.0
Top Comments by Alternativeto.net
Comments
  • RobertL87
    Review
    4.0

    Integrates with other systems like Skype for Business. Has it's own user friendly software and hardware.